News & Events


​Congratulations to Prof Nikolay Zheludev on being elected​ Fellow of The Royal Society!

Published on: 10-May-2018


​We are proud to announce that Prof Nikolay Zheludev has been elected Fellow of The Royal Society.​

Nikolay Zheludev is one of the founding members of the closely interlinked fields of metamaterials and nanophotonics that emerged at the dawn of the 21st century on the crossroads of optics and nanotechnology. He is a faculty member of the Division of Physics and Applied Physics, NTU, the co-Director of The Photonics Institute, Nanyang Technological University, and the Director of the Centre for Disruptive Photonic Technologies (CDPT).

The Royal Society

The Royal Society is a self-governing Fellowship made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK and the Commonwealth. Fellows and Foreign Members are elected for life through a peer review process on the basis of excellence in science. There are approximately 1,600 Fellows and Foreign Members, including around 80 Nobel Laureates. Each year up to 52 Fellows and up to 10 Foreign Members are elected from a group of around 700 candidates who are proposed by the existing Fellowship. You can find out more about the Fellowship here and here.

Back to listing